Home > Living Here >Government

The City of Gallatin, created by the Tennessee General Assembly in 1802, is the county
seat for Sumner County. Gallatin is governed by a full-time Mayor and seven City
Council members, one elected from each of the five districts and two at-large

The Mayor’s office and council chambers are housed at the Gallatin City Hall, 132 West
Main Street, along with the offices of the City Recorder, City Engineer, City Judge,
Economic Development Agency, Planning and Zoning and Codes Administration.

    Gallatin City Council

    Photographs provided by Suzanne Highers Photography


    The things that make a difference for us are in the community itself: the people in the community and how they’re working together to create an economic opportunity for growth and a prosperous future. We see that and how the elected officials work with the business community and work with the local hospitals to help marry those opportunities. And we certainly found that in Gallatin.
    Jeff Seraphine, Chief Operating Officer, LifePoint Hospitals Inc.


    For more information about Gallatin City Government, visit the city’s website or
    contact the Gallatin Economic Development Agency at (615) 451-5940 or